You’re welcome!

Almost two years ago I became acquainted with The Internet…not the “world wide web” internet but The Internet Band. I was in the company of a then, new friend. We were hanging out and wandered through his YouTube playlist. I remember when “Dontcha” came on, the bassline in the intro instantly captivated my ears. I was pleasantly surprised as I looked at the tv screen, the band was a real band! I saw guitars, keyboards, high-hats and snares. Not to mention Chad Hugo from the Neptunes!

When the lead singer opened her mouth, I was so intrigued. From her modern, hipster look, I didn’t expect her voice to be so soft, mellow and sweet. After that first encounter, I was indeed impressed:

So as I continued to enjoy the company of this certain, freckle-faced fella, I would often hear tidbits of The Internet’s music and I was never dissatisfied. It wasn’t until recently that I took the time to really study the neo-soul band and check out their discography.

The Internet is a group that branched off from Odd Future, whose former members included Tyler the Creator and Frank Ocean. The nucleus of the band consists of: Syd tha Kid (vocalist) who’s a DJ, turned producer, turned lead singer (gone’ head girl!) and Matt Martians, an Atlanta native who also produced for Odd Future.

The Internet has had 2 albums since they premiered: Purple Naked Ladies and Feel Good, which is my personal favorite. Feel Good has a classic, soulful sound but it’s still relevant to contemporary music. You can tell that they took chances and tried new things on their sophomore album, which most new artists normally do. Feel Good is the type of album that you can listen to the whole way through, I would recommend it to anyone who loves neo-soul music. Several songs from the Feel Good album are currently in rotation with Erykah Badu, Groove Theory and Brandy on my Spotify playlist.

Although I may be late to the buzz, the Internet is one of the dopest bands I have heard in a long time. The simple melodies mixed with a funky, jazzy sound tickles my musical fancy. During my mildly obsessive journey of playing catch-up, I was pleased to hear the news of a third album release on June 29th titled Ego Death. In my findings I was privileged to catch their latest track from the ED album titled, “Special Affair”, the sultry vocals accompanied by a crazy bassline(don’t even get me started on the bongos!) floored me. The growth and progression of this great band makes me very excited for what’s to come for The Internet. I’ll spare you the narrative and just let you hear for yourself.

You’re welcome 😉

p.s. Thanks for putting me on, Tory!

-TruetoLu

3 thoughts on “You’re welcome!

  1. janette says:

    Oh my goodness, I am in love with this. The bass line, that voice…can’t get enough of this. Thanks for sharing and also adding all those tidbits in the article, didn’t know it had that Neptunes love. :]

Leave a comment